Royal Antediluvian Order of Buffaloes

The Royal Antediluvian Order of Buffaloes (RAOB) is one of the largest fraternal organisations in the United Kingdom. The order started in 1822 and is known as the Buffs to members. The RAOB organisation aids members, their families, dependents of former members and other charitable organisations.

Northampton Mercury 20 September 1929


A NEW LODGE of the R.A.O.B. [Royal Antediluvian Order of Buffaloes] was opened on Saturday evening, at Castlethorpe, under the title of the Castle Lodge 6771. The charter was read by the Provincial Grand Secretary, Bro. W. R. Hill. K.O.M., and the ceremony was conducted by Bro. W. T. Knight, K.O.M. There were 65 registered visitors, including brethren of the lodges at Stony Stratford, Wolverton, Newport Pagnell, New Bradwell, and other places in the North Bucks Province. New members were initiated and several gave in their names as affiliated Bro. W. Fossey presided at the pianoforte for the musical portions of the evening.

Northampton Mercury 19 September 1930


Fishing Competition Ends on Skittles Table.

A fishing competition which was washed out by rain at Castlethorpe on Saturday finished a skittle match.
Teams of six from the Lord Wolverton Lodge R.A.O.B (Wolverton) and the Stanton Lodge, R.A.O.B (New Bradwell), went to Castlethorpe for a fishing competition in the afternoon.
Rain fell heavily throughout the three hours allotted for fishing, and only two competitors braved the three hours’ ordeal, others fishing intervals.
No fish were caught and the anglers adjourned to, a near-by inn where they decided to play oft the match at skittles, the Stanton Lodge winning by nine “horses” to four.

Back Row left to right: George Coe, Harry Jones, Will Stones, Frank Murray, Becky Whiting, Mrs. Frank Mills, Charlie Bywater, Tom Carpenter, George Cowley, Bill Woodward.
2nd Row left to right: Charlie Cook, George Checkley, Mrs. Evans, Miss Annie Gregory, Mrs. Royal Stones, Harriet Limbrey, Kate Carpenter, Clara Bywater, Mrs. Wakelin, Elizabeth Gobby, Mrs. Jasper Green, Charlie Harding, Ada Harding
Front Row seated left to right: Mrs.Cowley, Bob Holt, Mr. Wakelin, Mrs Murray, Mrs. Lewis, Mr. Slade, Mrs. Jack Rainbow, Bill Ward, Bill Woodward, Mrs. Scott, Mrs Newman ( oldest lady present). Mrs. Charlie Cook, Mrs. Wilson, Mrs. Annie Walker, Miss Mary Arrowsmith, Mrs. Walter Mills, Miss Helen Holt. Johnnie Cowley.