Saturday, September 8
2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
S E Midlands
Organised by: Winslow History Project
Eliot Hall was built in 1930 by the Wineslai Lodge of Freemasons. It was named after Rev. Philip Eliot, Vicar of Winslow, Bishop of Buckingham and Provincial Grand Master. This will be a rare opportunity to see inside the building and to learn about the history and activities of the Freemasons in Winslow.
The first meeting of the Winslow Freemasons in their new hall was held on 28 October 1930. It was built on the garden of the adjacent cottage, and is surrounded by 17th- and 18th-century buildings. Church Street is one of the oldest and most picturesque parts of Winslow, and the Guide and Brownie Hall (originally the Girls’ School) a few yards away will also be open.
Access: on foot from Church Walk or Horn Street. Parking on Winslow Market Square or Greyhound Lane and Public Hall Car Parks. Toilets available. The entrance has steps but a portable ramp is available.
Contact: Dr David Noy tel 01296 711683 email email@example.com